Day 17-Fav Childhood Book

Okay so before we even go down this rabbit hole, what are we classifying as Childhood? Lila has books that we read almost every night, she is 2 and I don’t for a second expect we will be reading the same thing in 4 years but it would feel like a waste after dedicating a full year to them to completely ignore them if discussing her childhood favourites in the future. So we aren’t answering the question about Lila but my point still stands, childhood is too undefined a term for me to give you a singular answer.

Plus, why would I pick just 1 book out of the many thousands out there to define the period in time in which I established the main base of my beliefs and thoughts around the world? ARE YOU CRAZY!?!?!

Here is a selection of books I loved from infancy to YA, in no particular order.

  1. The little mermaid -Disney addition, now as an adult I can frown at the quite obvious sexism in teaching a young girl that she doesn’t need a voice cause a man will fall in love with her ‘body language’ but at the time I was just happy there was a mermaid with red hair. My mum always had red hair whilst I was growing up (I now have red hair) so I somehow related to her.
  2. Thursdays Child- Noel StreatfeildI was weirdly obsessed with this book as a small child, I don’t remember relating to any of the characters, although I am sure I did, it was however the first book that completely transported my mind.
  3. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (+series) – JK Rowling, do I need to even introduce this. This book was first introduced to me in Year 4 (aged 9) by a year 5 teacher (Mrs Sales- phonetic spelling of her name but I can not remember the actual). I still hear her voice when I read the first chapter though, she had an extreme elegance in the way she spoke and it captivated me as a child. This along with the book itself just allowed an awkward 9 year old to escape the frustrating world around her and hope for better.
  4. Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll, read with my dad from a small age and still reading now. My nan got Lila an Alice dress for her birthday so I am going to start introducing the stories to her.

I am sure there are many more but since starting this blog post I have become increasing distracted in my surroundings, apparently uni is not the place to blog. So I will leave it here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

