Day 12- If I won the lottery…

Does money make you happy? This is the conversation I was having at work yesterday. There are definitely two schools of thought here (by here I mean at my workplace, not throughout the world):

1) Money is the ultimate route to happiness, nothing but increasing wealth will make happiness

2) Money is needed to meet the most basic of needs, but there is a limit to which it can bring happiness before one realises stronger happiness is generated from other places.

I have to hold my hands up to being more in the second camp but it did lead to further discussion regarding the importance of where the money has come from, money earnt often has required a level of dedication and sacrifice via time that can change spending habits when compared with money won or inherited. In this situation of winning the lottery, I have to go from the mindset of being at work today to going home and finding myself a millionaire by tomorrow.

There is also questions about how much of a lottery win we are discussing, if I won the lottery with three numbers, for example, me and my £10 will probably go and have quite a nice halloumi and chip kebab but it will not change my life. For argument’s sake, let’s say this question is if I win £1mil.

Once I had calmed down from the inevitable panic attack of realising I can pay my rent this month and not worry, and I have managed to wipe the sweat out of my eyes I would probably have to sit down and work out some kind of plan. This is not a spending plan, there is a certain irony I feel in that the immediate response to winning a lot of money is spending a lot of money. That is not to say that I would spend none of it of course but rather that I would try to spend it in a way that would generate more revenue.

The single large purchase I would make is probably a house, I could go into a long reason as to why this seems like such an unaffordable dream in the current state of Souther England but this post is already too long so I will bore you later, but this would tick so many of my immediate life goals and create a much more stable platform for me to reevaluate my life. I would probably not be overly honest about my ability to buy the house, nearly all of my friends are in the same boat as me some of them with children to boot and it would seem excessively unfair to put that strain of potential jealousy on our friendships. It would be an understandable and unconscious reaction on nearly all of their parts but it’s juts not something I would want to risk. This would obviously limit the extravagance of the property if it was a believable inherited property that the lie would feel less dirty.

After the house, I have no idea.

 

Leave a Reply

